Thursday, June 28, 2012

In The Forests Of The Night (Goblin Wars #2) by Kersten Hamilton

book cover of In The Forests Of The Night by Kersten Hamilton

Title: In The Forests Of The Night (Goblin Wars #2)
Author: Kersten Hamilton
Release date: November 22, 2011
Publisher: Clarion Books
Pages: 295
Source: Publisher

The battle against goblinkind continues . . . but which side will Teagan be on?

Teagan, Finn, and Aiden have made it out of Mag Mell alive, but the Dark Man’s forces are hot on their heels. Back in Chicago, Tea’s goblin cousins show up at her school, sure she will come back to Mag Mell, as goblin blood is never passive once awoken. Soon she will belong to Fear Doirich and join them. In the meantime, they are happy to entertain themselves by trying to seduce, kidnap, or kill Tea’s family and friends. Tea knows she doesn’t have much time left, and she refuses to leave Finn or her family to be tortured and killed. A wild Stormrider, born to rule and reign, is growing stronger inside her. But as long as she can hold on, she’s still Teagan Wylltson, who plans to be a veterinarian and who heals the sick and hurting. The disease that’s destroying her—that’s destroying them all—has a name: Fear Doirich. And Teagan Wylltson is not going to let him win.

In The Forests Of The Night is a strong follow-up to Tyger, Tyger.  In fact it may have been better.  I wasn’t sure that was possible but this book exceeded all my expectations and completely blew me away.
The characters and the originality of each of them are what make this book so spectacular.  Teagan is part human, part Highborn but she will never succumb to her goblin nature.  She is kind, caring, and loving but above all else she is fierce and protective.  She takes her duties as daughter, sister, friend, and girlfriend very seriously.  She looks out for her brother, dad, friends, and boyfriend.  Pretty much the definition of kick-ass.  Then there is everyone else.  Abby cracked me up. Aiden was so adorable.  Finn was pretty much the perfect boyfriend/protector.  The Turtles may have been the best though.  They were hilarious.  
The story itself picked up where Tyger, Tyger left off.  Teagan knows that she will never escape the goblins now that they know about her and her brother.  The story is pretty much one surprise goblin/creature attack after another.  It is pulse pounding and terribly addicting.  There are also quite a few funny moments thrown in to break the tension.  It’s the perfect mix of action, suspense, humor, and romance.
Another thing I want to mention is how unique the creatures are.  Every type of goblin, sidhe, and creature is in this book. Some are cute, some are definitely not but each one is unique and has it’s own interesting story.
Overall, In The Forests Of The Night is a must-read for fans of Tyger, Tyger.  The ending leaves you wanting more (without being a cliffhanger) and I can’t wait to see how this story will end.
Looking for more reviews of In The Forests Of The Night?
Series:
In The Forests Of The Night (Goblin Wars #2)
RSS
Follow by Email3
Facebook0
Facebook
Google+0
Google+
http://katiesbookblog.com/2012/06/in-forests-of-night-goblin-wars-2-by.html
Pinterest0
Pinterest
LINKEDIN
INSTAGRAM

8 Comments

  1. Christina Kit.

    I love it when authors dare use creatures that aren’t automatically attractive to readers – it’s awesome the goblins worked so well in this story and you loved them 🙂

    Lots of authors are branching out – leprechauns in Wendy Higgins’ new novel, trolls in Stolen Songbird.

    Lovely review!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge