Monday, May 25, 2015

Blog Tour: Nearly Found (Nearly Gone #2) by Elle Cosimano | Review + Giveaway

Blog Tour: Nearly Found (Nearly Gone #2) by Elle Cosimano | Review + Giveaway

Blog Tour: Nearly Found (Nearly Gone #2) by Elle Cosimano | Review + GiveawayNearly Found by Elle Cosimano
Series: Nearly Gone #2
Published by Penguin Teen on June 2, 2015
Genres: Contemporary
Pages: 400
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
4 Stars

The sequel to the highly praised and intricately plotted Nearly Gone--a YA urban mystery that's perfect for fans of Bones, Numbers, and The Body Finder

When Nearly Boswell starts working as an intern at a crime lab, she's hoping it will give her an advantage when it comes to college applications. But on her first day, a girl from her trailer park turns up dead. Then the corpse of a missing person is discovered, buried on a golf course, with a message for Nearly etched into the bones. When Nearly finds out the corpse is the father of Eric, a classmate of hers, she starts to worry that the body is connected to her father's disappearance five years ago. Nearly, Reece, and Nearly's classmates--Vince, Jeremy, and Eric--start a dangerous investigation into their fathers' pasts that threatens Nearly's fragile romance with Reece, and puts all them in the killer's path.

picadillyblueNearly Found is a solid sequel to Nearly Gone.  While I didn’t love it as much as it’s predecessor, it captured my attention and kept me guessing until the very end.

Nearly Boswell is back and better than ever.  With her tormentor behind bars her life should be on it’s way back to normal.  However, that is not the case.  She, along with many people in her life, have started receiving messages in places that should not be accessible to people; locked cars, bedrooms, and other private places.  It’s up to Nearly, Reece, and her fellow classmates to figure out what is going on before bodies start piling up.

Nearly and Reece are back and their relationship is still very new.  Nearly is starting school, a new internship, and on top of all that she is once again involved in some crazy stuff.  She can’t ever seem to keep herself out of trouble.  As for Reece, he has a new assignment that keeps him from spending a lot of time with Nearly and puts their new relationship on the rocks.  To be completely honest, I was a little skeptical about him this time around.  He acted quite sketchy at times.  I wanted to love him like I did in the first book but he made it difficult.

This time around Nearly had a lot more allies, even if some of them were reluctant to team up with her.  Alex and Gena are back but they don’t have prominent roles.  I still loved them though, especially Alex.  Jeremy and Anh are also back and I had some serious issues with them.  They both blamed Nearly from what happened at the end of the first book and pretty much dropped her as a friend.  I hated that.  Vince was back and a bit less of a douchebag.  Lonny was my favorite though.  He has a unique relationship with Nearly.  They have more in common than either would like to admit.

My biggest problem with Nearly Found was how much crap Nearly got away with.  She was an intern with the forensics lab and she totally took advantage of the access that granted her.  She should have been caught and in serious trouble many times but she somehow got away with it.  It was very unrealistic.  Her internship was a pretty fascinating part of the story though.

The mystery was just as good as the first book.  I was completely unable to see the connections.  I had no clue how everything was going to tie together.  There were so many times when I just wanted to skip to the end to see who it was but I forced myself not to.  I devoured the book in one day though because I could not stop reading without figuring out who the killer was.  Good luck guessing this one.

As for Nearly, her development as a character and with her ability was fantastic.  She is more open to touching people and she is really trying to learn to deal with her ability without pushing people away.

Overall, Nearly Found was a wonderful conclusion to this duology.  I look forward to reading Elle Cosimano’s next book.  I highly recommend this duology to suspense fans.

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

RSS
Follow by Email3
Facebook0
Facebook
Google+0
Google+
http://katiesbookblog.com/2015/05/blog-tour-nearly-found-nearly-gone-2-by-elle-cosimano-review-giveaway.html
Pinterest0
Pinterest
LINKEDIN
INSTAGRAM

14 Comments

  1. erinf1

    oooh… this is the first I’ve heard of these books and I’m definitely interested now 🙂 thanks for the great review!

  2. alicia marie

    Thanks for the review! I loved Nearly Gone so I’m glad to hear that Nearly Found is good as well. Can’t wait to read it 🙂

  3. danielle hammelef

    Thanks for the review. I’m excited to have found a mystery that really keeps readers in the dark til the end.

  4. Taylor Winsor

    I have not read or even heard of either of these books until now, but after reading your review for Nearly Gone, holy cow, that sounds amazing! Thank you for the review and these are most definitely going on my TBR 🙂

  5. Jennifer Y.

    I’ve never read these books before but they sound interesting. I appreciate your blunt honestly whe you review books

  6. Chayse

    Hey Katie,

    Wonderful review. I have not had the chance to read the first book in this two part series but I have been hearing really great things about it. I am going to add this to my never ending pile and see where I can go with it.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge